Currently Reading On Election Eve

Last night I just began to read my third letterpress printing book.

Letterpress: New Applications for Traditional Skills by David Jury

It has a lot of artwork by various artists and so far a lot of examples using wood type, which were the first forms of type produced for letterpress. Here’s a page I scanned that I loved and thought I would share it with you.

This just makes me smile! 🙂 The wood type is so great!

From what I read, it’s very fragile stuff, wood type. All type seems to be. But with time wood changes. I think some of the little imperfections to the wood due to age, normal wear and a little ill handling brings character when printed. Some people don’t feel the same way, but I personally enjoy both.

As I said, this is the third letterpress printing book I’ve read. I’ve been checking them out at the library and thought I’d read them that way first in order to decide which are best for me to buy and invest in.

I definitely feel I’m on my way to a new hobby, but it all takes time.

On this election eve, I’d like to take the time to tell you, “Don’t forget to vote tomorrow!!!!”

Leave a comment

Filed under letterpress

Leave a Reply

