Give Me An S! Give Me An N! Give Me An O! Give Me A W!

Today I’m definitely stuck inside, which isn’t all that bad since I do have Christmas things to do which require being home to do them. Why, you ask? Snow.

img_6516

Here in the Pacific Northwest, when the snow hits we all bunker down and try as much as possible not to drive anywhere (notice no cars coming down the busy road/hill in the photo – tonight I’m sure to hear a lot of drivers slipping and sliding trying to get up this hill), well at least most of us. We’re not normally a snowy part of Washington, so we don’t have the large amount of plows and other equipment to keep the roads and sidewalks clear. Definitely not like when I was living in Utah going to college. I swear the sidewalks must be heated on BYU campus! They always seemed to be perfectly clear!

img_65101

The past four or five years or so here the snow seems to keep coming much more often and much, much deeper. What is the new phrase they’re using? Climate control?

img_6508

I woke up this morning and there was almost 11″ of snow in our small city of Duvall. Now it’s past 12″ because my ruler is completely covered and it’s still coming down! The most of the traffic in Duvall are cross country skiers and my neighbor plowing the street and his long driveway on his quad. How fun is that?! It seems to be snowing everywhere in the Puget Sound areas surrounding Seattle, Tacoma and Everett.

img_6511

It was so deep that shoveling was required to carve a pathway to one of my plants to let my cute little Kosmo go out and pee. I think I’m going to have to dig a longer pathway for him to do his b’ness.

img_6509

He’s so funny! He goes outside and he stands there and does a quiet bark as if he’s Moses telling the sea to part. Then he runs to another area and barks, then another area and barks and that darn snow just doesn’t move! When he finally gives in he comes back inside and runs like mad dog around the house to let some energy loose.

img_6513

The snow has never been this deep before since I’ve lived in Duvall. Anyone care to roast some marshmallows in our fire pit above? Geez! I think my bird house is going to tip over from the weight of the snow!

It appears that most people are staying home, all schools are closed too. Some are forced to stay home from work as all on-ramps in Redmond to Highway 520 are closed. Guess that means Duvall has a lot of people working for Microsoft from home today.

img_6515

In other news, I’m trying to figure out why you can no longer click on my photos and enlarge them for a larger view. WordPress recently made some changes and I can’t figure out what I need to do to make this possible. I’m working on it though.

Leave a comment

Filed under news

Leave a Reply

