Elf In a Storm

A storm is a-comin’. They say it’s a blizzard. Up to 70mph wind, snow, ice, it’s fun sometimes, but there are times when I do wish I had dry pavement to drive on.

img_6559

But good thing for Ken, my UPS guy. Without fail, everyday he comes with a new delivery of pressies. He’s even better than the US mail! img_6531

I’ve heard it said come rain, come sleet, come ice or snow the US mail is always there. But not here! We hadn’t received mail for two days until today. I’m sure no one did in our cul-de-sac because there were no tire tracks in the snow at the mailboxes.

countrygirl(photo from Ann Wood Handmade)

But what to my wondering eyes should appear? A birdie I’ve been waiting for for what feels like a year! I’ve been waiting to get my hands on one of these and it finally arrived in the mail today. They’re so adorable and much larger than I imagined. I could hardly wait to open her up! And then there she was — Libby. So adorable, Miss Libby. She’s on my fireplace mantle right now.

greta

(photo courtesy of Ann Wood)

Handmade by the extremely talented Ann Wood. Have a look at what she’s currently working on on her blog here. When Ann sends out a notice that she has some new handmade treasures available on her web site they go fast! You can special order little bride & groom birds to use as cake toppers for your wedding or anniversary party or for just whenever. Put a handmade Ann Wood bird on top of any cake and I’d be a happy camper for sure! Mmmm…cake!

img_6542

Love this photo of my dogwood out back. The red branches against the white snow really pop. Well done Mr. R, well done.

Tonight I’m watching one of my favorite Christmas movies, Elf. My all time favorite is A Christmas Story, but I watched that one recently. This is my most favorite scene.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Why is it that I’m 37-years-old and this scene cracks me up?! Anyhoo, watch a movie this weekend to help you get in the mood of the season. And stay off the naughty list everyone!

Next up, my Christmas cards…or maybe just the envelopes since they’ve not all been sent. If my power goes out, because of the snow and wind and all, it may take a while. It’s really comin’ down tonight! To everyone in snowy and chilly weather, stay warm and safe.

Leave a comment

Filed under gardening, news, weddings

Leave a Reply

