New Letterhand With Controversy

Whenever I can, I love to address envelopes and packages while playing around with a new font. Here is a recent one I’m playing with.

casualpointedpenThe color is a sort of Kelly Green but the scanner sure does make it look darker than the ink actually is. The ink used is gouache paint mixed up to the right consistency to use with the pointed pen. I really need to begin writing out some fictitious names and addresses because blurring out what I’ve written doesn’t look so great when sharing with others.

lisapurple-pic-300

I’m not quite sure what to call the font. What do you think? It’s a very casual style. It’s inspired by a style I saw in Lisa Engelbrecht’s (pictured above) book, “Modern Mark Making: From Classic Calligraphy to Hip-Handlettering” (pictured below).

53723

It’s a great book for outside the box lettering. It’s really not so much “classic”, but using “classic” to come up with “modern mark making” and “hip hand-lettering”.

I could see a lot of scrapbookers who print & journal in their scrapbooks enjoying her style. She’s even started designing for tattoos!!! I’m so pleased to see this! I’ve always thought really, really awesome tattoo artisits have a great talent and niche when it comes to calligraphy. Including graffiti art, which she also highlights in the book.

a_img_2103a

{image from San Diego Fellow Calligraphers}

Lisa’s also covered a lot on brush lettering in her book, which I studied recently under the direction of the freelance lettering artists, Carl Rohrs (Surprisingly, I can’t find a web site for him anywhere!), and will share about the class in a later post. Brush lettering definitely looks easier at first than it actually is, but with practice it begins to come together.

I know what I’m about to share has nothing to do with calligraphy, invitations and announcements, but if you know me you know I love sports. I’m surprised I’m saying this, but I’m actually proud of Alex Rodriguez, aka A-Rod, A-Roid and my personal favorite A-Roddona, for admitting his steroid use from 2001 – 2003. He actually admitted to being “young and stupid” back then. Sounds very similar to what Michael Phelps said about himself recently.

However, (you didn’t think I was going to leave it at that, did you?) Alex brought the pressure on himself by accepting the outrageous salary to leave the M’s for $252 million back then to play with the Texas Rangers. When I go to Mariner games where we’re playing the current team A-Rod is on, it still pleases me when members of the crowd continue each year to throw out fake money when he comes up to bat. I think it will always please me when this happens.

original1

arodmasks-785819

Fans in other cities taunt him with Madonna photo’s and masks. With him admitting his steroid use, it makes me wonder what the baseball fans are going to taunt him with next. Let’s hope they’re not throwing out syringes! One thing for sure, it won’t go unnoticed.

08f

I remember, before Alex began playing for the M’s, before the name A-Rod ever came to be, he played AAA ball for the Tacoma Rainiers. Sitting with my brother, watching a game one summer evening in Tacoma, M said to keep an eye on the short-stop, he was going places. He quickly did. Very quickly his innocence and love of the game changed as well. Despite being surrounded by loyal and great players like Edgar Martinez and Jay Buhner, while you could tell he appreciated playing with and learning from them, if you watched him closely you could tell his talent was being recognized and his attitude and aura about him was changing — and not always in a good way.

The history of sports has changed so much! Don’t you agree? Gone is the feel good era of Michael Jordan, Steve Largent, Pele, Mohammad Ali, Babe Ruth, Hank Aaron, I could go on. Sadly, when it comes to controversy in sports, I could go on with a list of names almost as long and the majority of them would be current and recent athletes. Just take a look at this great commercial that we very likely and sadly will never see again due to recent events…

Featuring Kobe Bryant, Alex Rodriguez, Tony Hawk and Michael Phelps

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Correct me if I’m wrong, but I haven’t seen any damaging controversy surrounding Tony Hawk and I’m so happy about that. Thank goodness there are still good guys & girls out there who truly love their sport for all the right reasons. Let’s hope that the great and awesome athletes can out number the not so great.

Leave a comment

Filed under calligraphy, envelopes, news

Leave a Reply

