Happy Birthday to You and You and You!!!

It was my nieces, A’s, birthday on the 16th. She’s 13-years old! I can’t believe it! She’s a teenager! An official teenager!!! Oy Vey!!! Time is just flying by. I doubt she reads this blog, but just in case, Happy 13th Birthday A!!!

I wanted to make a card for her, but different from all others I’ve ever made. Unfortunately, it took longer than expected. Since I knew it was going to be late R came up with a creative little poem after I finished the drawing and watercolor. The artwork only on the cover was inspired by something I saw somewhere and I’m so sorry, but I can not remember who or where I saw it, it was somewhere online. So, if this looks like something similar to what you’ve done before, just let me know and if it’s you, I’d be happy to give you credit.

monolineitaliccard

R’s little poem was handwritten by me and if I recall correctly, they call the letterhand monoline italic. It’s a great letterhand to learn for beginners or for those who want to improve their own penmanship as it’s able to be written much faster than most other letterhands. FYI, it does not look at all like the monoline italic computer font.

A’s birthday has made me reflect back to when I turned 13-years-old. I was just about to enter the 8th grade. I think my family went to the temple that year. Or was it the year prior? Hmmmm.

seattle_lds_mormon_templerick-satterfield11(photo taken by Rick Satterfield)

Anyway, my older siblings, T & M, were adopted when they were babies, but that year we were all finally sealed to each other in the Seattle LDS Temple. I know all of that can be a bit confusing and sort of a mystery so if you have questions about it let me know and I’d be happy to tell you all about it the best I can.

Anyway, my latest crush the entire past school year was on Kurt H., a guy who didn’t even know I existed even though every time I saw him I’m sure my face turned beet red. T had really busted up her ankle playing soccer the school year prior. I’m talkin’ surgery with screws, bolts, plates, she had a bionic foot before and after! She was so good at soccer she was playing for the high school even though she was in junior high! Anyway, I met her at her locker to help her carry her books and one time Kurt H., his locker was nearby, spoke to me and I’m sure I babbled some nonsensical alien language back to him. So it was a good thing that I was about to enter the 8th grade and he had just left my junior high, along with T, moving on to high school. But rest assured by the 9th grade I was in high school and back to red faces and alien languages when seeing him again.

If I remember right, I think I had a short bob haircut when I was 13. One side was a little longer than the other. See here, here & here. What can I say? It was the early 80’s! It’s scary that the style is back again!

I soooo got off track there, but stay tuned for tomorrow when you’ll be able to see the inside of A’s birthday card, the rest of the poem and the original watercolor.

Oh! And Happy Birthday to J & R too! And welcome home Junior! Can’t wait to say again, “Hit It Here Junior!”

Vodpod videos no longer available.

1 Comment

Filed under calligraphy, family, news, watercolor art/paintings

One response to “Happy Birthday to You and You and You!!!

  1. birthday cards that are personlized are the best in my opinion, they really come from the bottom of the heart of the sender`;’

Leave a Reply

