White Chocolate Envelope

Yes, yes, I know I haven’t updated you on how the envelope exchange is going. That’s because I’ve been behind on that work. But I finally finished my January envelope!

jan2009envelopeexchange

I hope it looks like January to you. It feels like January to me. Black like the short days and long nights. White like the snow that seems to never quit. Then the white blossoms with just a hint of yellow in the center in the hopes of Spring bringing new life when you get tired of all the white stuff.

g2690

I painted the handmade envelope on black Arches watercolor paper with Dr. Ph. Martin’s Bleed Proof White. I used some yellow watercolor paint to dot the center of the flowers.

sakura_xpgb50

I had one heck of a time addressing the envelope. I was trying to use one of my white Sakura Gelly Roll pens and it would not work for me. I found another and had the same trouble! It wouldn’t even come out white! Like the pigment had separated from the rest of the liquid and the pigment wasn’t even making it out to the tip of the pen. Does that make sense? Has that ever happened to you? If so, how did you fix it? It was so annoying and you might be able to tell that the first line of the address is not looking like the rest because of that issue.

pens

So I ended up using a glass dip pen to finish the rest of the address on the envelope. Needless to say, not  my best work. I mixed up some Dr. Ph. Martin’s again to the right consistency to write with.

offsetintro

I wrote the name in a flourished copperplate letterhand. I used my oblique pen with a new nib I’m trying. It’s a Gillot 404 I purchased from Paper Ink & Arts. I’ve heard some people say it’s their favorite. It’s definitely stiffer than the Brause EF 66 nib I learned on and have been using ever since the recent change, but I’m still going to give it a try.

jan2009envelopeexchangeback

I sealed the envelope using ivory wax from Atelier Gargoyle with my peacock stamp, which was made in Italy. Doesn’t the wax look just like white chocolate? Yum!

img_0392

Here is another photo from the NW Flower & Garden Show. This was very unique and contemporary and I love how the circle area frames up the other part of the garden so perfectly. The look of the wall inspires me when it comes to invitation design. You may see something similar to this in the future and I’ll try to remember to reference this photo when sharing it with you.

Leave a comment

Filed under calligraphy, envelopes, gardening, invitations, paper, watercolor art/paintings

Leave a Reply

