Gone Too Soon

I’m sure you’ve already heard the news about the sad passing of Farrah Fawcett. You most likely also know she died from anal cancer. Did you have the opportunity to watch her special, Farrah’s Story? If not, Tivo it so you can watch it again the next time it’s on.

farrah-fawcett

M1, does this photo look familiar?

The special is like a documentary. Farrah wanted her fight to be filmed and seen by others. It’s very important for everyone to see. In some ways I wish I had done the same with my father when he battled melanoma cancer and lost his fight a little over a year ago. I kept wanting the world to see what it’s like. Sometimes I feel like cancer, especially certain types of cancer, doesn’t feel real to others unless you are going through it or watching a loved one fight the battle right there in front of you. When you do, you definitely see how precious life can be and how cancer can totally turn your world upside down. After my father passed, can you believe I had a friend who had the audacity to tell me they were going tanning in a tanning bed because they were feeling a little depressed?!!!! What the h-e-double hockey sticks?!!!! Without stating the obvious cancer risk, you can NOT get vitamin D or serotonin from a tanning bed, despite what some tanning salons advertise. Needless to say, she got an earful from me.

114602_Emmys_BRV_27

Anyway, my point is, when you see Farrah’s special, which she and her close friends filmed, you’ll see a lot of what it’s like. Even times when she was sick and vomiting, Alana Stewart, her friend, felt she should stop recording out of repect, but Farrah insisted she continue to record because that’s a part of cancer and the side effects.

I sit here and wonder what her last couple days were like. Were they like Dad’s? Was she awake? Was she able to speak? Eat or drink even a tiny bit? Was she with the people she loved when she passed? I hope so.

I remember playing “Charlie’s Angels” with my cousin, T, when I was little. I only wanted to play it if I could be Jill Munroe, Farrah’s character. As much as I loved watching that show when I was little, her special about her cancer will be something I’ll never forget. I’m so, so, so glad she made “Farrah’s Story” and was comfortable enough to put it out there for everyone to see to give anal cancer, various other types of cancer and cancer research the attention it truly needs.

In other sad news,

The+Best+Of+Michael+Jackson

the King of Pop passed away today too. No matter how you feel about him regarding his personal life, he was and will always be a musical great.

thriller-michael-jackson

Back when I was in high school, during his “Thriller” tour, I was supposed to go see him in concert with my friend, AF. It would have been my very first concert, but he got sick with the flu and never rescheduled. I’m sure it would have been unforgettable.

Two stars “Gone Too Soon“. In the words of Shakespeare, “May flights of angels sing thee to thy rest.”

Leave a comment

Filed under cancer, news

Leave a Reply

