Results Of A Graceful Envelope

Yesterday I received some of the best news!

2009Certificate

This arrived in the mail yesterday! I was so stunned! With entries that came from all over the globe, I’m very, very honored to be included. I must admit, for a long time I’ve wondered if my work was really that good compared to so many other calligraphic artists, but this definitely helped me feel more confident in where I’m at with my skill set.

Do you know what’s even cooler? My main calligraphy instructor, the extremely talented Kathy Barker, was selected as one of the 12 winners!!! I’m definitely in very talented company and I can’t wait to see what her envelope looked like. A definite piece of art, I’m sure.

On August 15th you’ll be able to see the artwork on the Washington D.C. Calligraphers Guild web site here. If you’re in the D.C. area in October, stop by the National Association of Letter Carriers Headquarters and the envelopes will be on display there.

Some of the judges of the contest were Sammy Little, whose client list is very impressive, The Supreme Court, the U.S. Capitol and the National Gallery of Art, to name a few.

ml-brown{image from here}

Another judge was the very talented Marta Legeckis. Here is a piece of her beautiful artwork above. Marta works as a freelance calligrapher for The White House and Department of State. Makes me want to move to D.C. just to have the chance to learn from these folks and maybe be lucky enough to address some White House correspondence or invitations.

July2009Weather

This is the latest weather forecast for my area. It’s frickin’ hot here in the Puget Sound area folks! Seattle is forecasting 100 degrees tomorrow, which will be setting a record. We may even set an all time high record, and the weather has been recorded in this area since the 1800’s. To those who don’t believe in global warming, come sit in my hot house for the week without A/C and then tell me everything is normal.

The only relief in site is Saturday with temperatures looking to be around 85 degrees. And for the Seattle area, that’s not much relief, but at least it won’t be like it is today for the Urban Craft Uprising. Don’t forget! This weekend, Saturday & Sunday from 11am to 5pm. Hope to see some of you there!

Until then, if you don’t hear from me here it’s due to the heat. Sorry folks it’s much too hot to be sitting with a laptop on! Now it’s time to go sit in a tub of ice water. Ciao for now!

3 Comments

Filed under calligraphy, envelopes

3 responses to “Results Of A Graceful Envelope

  1. Shelly

    congratulations!!!! It’s lovely!

  2. Way to go!! Congratulations Tiffany!

  3. mumargaret

    Always knew you had a special talent.
    congratulations!

Leave a Reply

