Moving Earth & Black Wave

This morning around 5:30am I was partially awake, trying to get back to sleep when I felt the earth move. A 3.4 earthquake, folks, centered a few miles south of where I live here in Duvall, Washington. It shook the bed a little and didn’t last long. If I had been asleep I doubt I would have woken up at all.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Even Kosmo, my dog, stayed fast asleep, which is unusual. Trust me, if he had felt it he would have been, “Oh! What’s that?!I must go outside to inspect and protect my master!” He’s a funny dog, even when we have heavy windstorms and thunder he’s not afraid, he’s gotta go out, run around and inspect things.

A few days ago, early in the morning, I watched a documentary on CBC, the Canadian Network, called Black Wave, which is about the Exxon Valdez tragedy.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

It’s eye opening. The entire time I could not get my mind off what’s happening in the Gulf of Mexico oil spill right now with BP. It really does worry me, especially when you hear news reports that this looks worse than the Exxon Valdez, which is considered the worst environmental catastrophe in North America.

I worry for the wildlife, the ecosystem, but I really worry for the wonderful people of the area affected, especially after watching Black Wave. Originally Exxon was ordered to pay $5 billion dollars in punitive damages to those effected by the 1989 spill. For 14 years Exxon appealed and appealed and appealed finally reaching the U.S. Supreme Court. In my opinion, their decision was a disservice to the people of Alaska, to fishermen, to wildlife, to Mother Earth. In June 2008, the U.S. Supreme Court set punitive damages at $507.5 million! Yes, that’s million with an “M”.

In 2007, one year before the U.S. Supreme Court decision, Exxon Mobil made $40.6 billion. In 1988, one year before the spill, Exxon was the second top profiting U.S. company. Exxon studies claim the area is healthy and thriving. Numerous independent studies show environmental damage proving the region has not fully recovered.

Riki Ott, marine biologist, digging a beach on Knight Island. ‘Exxon Valdez oil, 18 years later.’{image from here}

As you can see, you don’t have to be a scientist conducting an official study to see oil all over your hand when you stick it in the waters along the shore of Prince William Sound.

And this is why I worry so much about the current mess we’re in in the Gulf of Mexico in addition to regulations set on off shore drilling. Today it was reported the oil is getting darker, which probably means there’s more oil gushing out into the ocean and less gas. Sometimes it feels like oil is just more trouble than it’s worth. Louisiana and the region have been through so much already.

{image from here}

I highly encourage you to watch Black Wave, which is out on DVD, and do all you can so history won’t repeat itself. To check out the official website for the documentary click here.

I wonder if this morning’s quake was the earths way of saying she’s just a little pissed off right now.

Leave a comment

Filed under news

Leave a Reply

